Katherine Chen, MD ‘15 Receives Mack Lipkin, Sr. Associate Member Scientific Presentation Award

The Society of General Internal Medicine has announced its 2022 award and grant recipients. SGIM is proud and pleased to announce the recipients by category.

Presentation Awards

Mack Lipkin, Sr. - Associate Member Awards – Presented to the scientific presentations considered most outstanding by students, residents and fellows during the 2022 SGIM annual meeting. Awards are made based on participant evaluations of the presentations and are endowed by the Zlinkoff Fund for Medical Education. The award winners for 2022 are:

UCLA student Mildred Galvez earns award to attend major cancer meeting

Congratulations to Mildred Galvez, an MD/PhD student in the Department of Molecular and Medical Pharmacology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. She received one of the Minority Scholar in Cancer Research Awards at the American Association for Cancer Research’s annual meeting, held April 8 to 13 in New Orleans. 

Andrew Lu, MD/PhD '27 Receives Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowship for New Americans

Today, the board of directors of The Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans, a merit-based graduate school program for immigrants and children of immigrants, announced the program’s 2022 Fellows. Chosen from a pool of over 1,800 applicants, the 30 Paul & Daisy Soros Fellows were selected for their potential to make significant contributions to the United States. They will each receive up to $90,000 in funding to support their graduate studies.   

DGSOM Professor selected for 2022 Sloan Research Fellowship

Eight young UCLA professors are among 118 scientists and scholars selected today to receive 2022 Sloan Research Fellowships, making UCLA No. 1 among U.S. and Canadian colleges and universities in the number of new fellows.

The fellowships, among the most competitive and prestigious awards available to early-career researchers, are often seen as evidence of the quality of an institution’s science, math and economics faculty. MIT, with seven new faculty fellows, had the second most.

S. Thomas Carmichael elected to the Association of American Physicians

Dr. S. Thomas Carmichael has been elected to the Association of American Physicians, an honor society recognizing exemplary physician-scientists who contribute to clinical medicine through the pursuit of basic science. The newly elected members for 2021 were recognized at the association’s annual meeting, which was held virtually April 8–10.

UCLA physician-scientist elected to National Academy of Medicine

Dr. Antoni Ribas, a world-renowned physician–scientist and professor of medicine at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, has been named to the National Academy of Medicine, one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine.

New members are elected by their peers, and selection to the academy honors individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service and have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care and public health.

UCLA receives $6.4 million to fund cannabis research

UCLA has received seven grants totaling $6.4 million from the California Bureau of Cannabis Control. The awards will fund studies on topics ranging from the toxicity of inhaled and second-hand cannabis smoke to employment conditions in California’s cannabis industry.

The grants were awarded to faculty from the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, the UCLA Luskin School of Public Affairs and several research centers.