About the Award Recipient

The 2023 recipient of the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award is Dr. Jane Yanagawa. Dr. Yanagawa joined the faculty at the David Geffen School of Medicine in 2013, and she is currently Associate Professor in the Department of Surgery and Director of the Thoracic Surgery Program at Santa Monica Hospital. She was the first female faculty member to join the Division of Thoracic Surgery at UCLA and she serves as an exemplary role model for all trainees.

Letters of nomination from faculty, residents and students, highlight her exceptional compassion, her empathy and kindheartedness for her patients, as well as her unwavering commitment and dedication to creating a culture that is inclusive, diverse and equitable.  

A fantastic clinician and teacher, who demonstrates the highest level of compassion for her patients and their families every day, Dr. Yanagawa is known for her dedication to her patients and her learners.

About the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award

The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award is presented by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, a national organization dedicated to ensuring that compassion, respect, and empathy are at the core of all healthcare interactions.  This award recognizes and honors faculty members who are exemplary in their compassion and sensitivity in the delivery of care to patients and their family members, as well as in their respect for their colleagues.  The recipient is nominated and selected by faculty peers. 

Thank you to the Leonard Tow Award selection committee members for their outstanding work reviewing numerous dossiers submitted for consideration.  The faculty members serving on the committee are:

  • Stephen C. Cannon
  • Jodi L. Friedman
  • Isla P. Garraway
  • Judith Gasson
  • Arthur G. Gomez
  • Jennifer M. Lucero

Learn About the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award