Roles and Responsibilities

  • Establish a cohort of faculty members within their Department to support their advising efforts. Cohort members are faculty members who span clinical and research arenas within their specialty.

  • Serve as the "go-to person" within the Department when students are interested in learning more about their specialty.
  • Serve as the "go-to person" within the Department when other faculty members, Deans, and College Chairs would like to refer a student to learn more about their specialty.
  • Meet with students to explore their interests, and match students with potential mentors within their Department.
  • Oversee the student “Specialty Interest Group,” or identify a faculty colleague to run with this responsibility.
  • Help students navigate the residency application process in their specialty.

Connect with a Specialty ACE

John S. Shin, MD
Director, Medical Student Education
JShin@mednet.ucla.edu 

Judi A. Turner, MD, PhD
Vice Chair for Education
JATurner@mednet.ucla.edu

Paul Levins, MD
Clinical Professor
PLevins@mednet.ucla.edu

Jan Smogorzewski, MD
Medical Student Clerkship Director and Director of Inpatient Dermatology Education
Jsmogorzewski@dhs.lacounty.gov

Interested in learning more about Internal Medicine? Please complete this brief interest form so that we can connect you with one of our outstanding faculty advisors.

Interest Form

Neveen S. El-Farra, MD
Professor of Clinical Medicine
NElFarra@mednet.ucla.edu

Jodi L. Friedman, MD
Clinical Professor
JFriedman@mednet.ucla.edu

John Ly, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
EJly@mednet.ucla.edu

Erica D. Oberman, MD
Associate Clinical Professor
EOberman@mednet.ucla.edu

Deborah Lehman, MD
Clinical Professor & Assistant Dean
DLehman@mednet.ucla.edu 

Meeryo C. Choe, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
MChoe@mednet.ucla.edu 

Ginger Slack, MD
Assistant Clinical Professor
GSlack@mednet.ucla.edu