Mark Your Calendars

Important dates and student events.

Find academic calendars, detailed schedules, and student organization-sponsored events designed to set you up for success at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.

2023 - 2024 Academic Year

Academic Calendars

Fall Semester, 2023

  • Base Camp: Monday, August 14 – Friday, September 8, 2023
  • Foundations of Medical Science I: Monday, September 11 – Friday, November 17, 2023  
  • Thanksgiving Holiday: Monday, November 20 – Friday, November 24, 2023
  • Foundations of Medical Science I Continues: Monday, November 27 – Friday, December 22, 2023 
  • Break (two weeks): Monday, December 25, 2023– Friday, January 5, 2024

Spring Semester 2024

  • Foundations of Medical Science II: Monday, January 8 – Friday, June 28, 2024  
  • Break (one week): Monday, February 26 - Friday, March 1, 2024

Summer Session, 2024

  • Break (one week): Monday, July 1 - Friday, July 5, 2024
  • Foundations of Medical Science III: Monday, July 8 – Friday, August 30, 2024
  • CBSE Prep & Exam (one week): Monday, September 2 - Friday, September 6, 2024

Fall Semester, 2023  

  • CBSE Prep & Exam: Monday, September 18 - Friday, September 22, 2023
  • Intersession I (two week): Monday, September 25 - Friday, October 6, 2023
  • Required Rotations Begin (10 weeks): Monday, October 9 - Friday, December 15, 2023
  • Make-up week: Monday, December 18 - Friday, December 22, 2023
  • Break (two weeks): Monday, December 25, 2023 - Friday, January 5, 2024

Spring Semester, 2024

  • Intersession II (one week): Monday, January 8 - Friday, January 12, 2024   
  • Required Rotations Continue (8 weeks): Monday, January 15 - Friday, March 8, 2024  
  • Intersession III (1 week): Monday, March 11 - Friday, March 15, 2024 
  • Required Rotations Continue (8 weeks): Monday, March 18 - Friday, May 10, 2024  
  • Intersession IV (1 week): Monday, May 13 - Friday, May 17, 2024  
  • Required Rotations Continue (4 weeks): Monday, May 20 - Friday, June 14, 2024

Summer Session, 2024

  • Required Rotations Continue (4 weeks): Monday, June 17 - Friday, July 12, 2024  
  • Intersession V (1 week): Monday, July 15 - Friday, July 19, 2024  
  • Required Rotations Continue (8 weeks): Monday, July 22 - Friday, September 13, 2024

    Fall Semester, 2023

    • USMLE Prep (6 weeks): Monday, September 18 - Friday, October 27, 2023
    • Discovery Begins (8 weeks): Monday, October 30 - Friday, December 22, 2023
    • Break (2 weeks): Monday, December 25, 2023 - Friday, January 5, 2024

    Spring Semester, 2024

    • Discovery Continues (23 weeks): Tuesday, January 8 – Friday, June 14, 2024  

    Summer Session, 2024

    • Elective Rotations Begin (9 weeks): Monday, June 17 – Friday, August 16, 2024

    Fall Semester, 2023

    • Electives Rotations Continue (24 weeks.): Monday, July 3 – Friday, December 15, 2023
    • Break (two weeks): Monday December 18 - December 29, 2023

    Spring Semester, 2024

    • Elective Rotations Continue (9 weeks): Wednesday, January 3 – Friday, March 1, 2024  
    • Assessment for Internship (1 week): Monday, March 4 - Friday, March 8, 2024
    • Match Week (1 week): Monday, March 11 - Friday, March 15, 2024  
    • Elective Rotations Continue (12 weeks): Monday, March 18 – Friday, June 7, 2024
    • Commencement Ceremony: Friday, May 31, 2024
    • Semester Ends/Diploma Date: Friday, June 7, 2024

    Downloadable Academic Calendars and Schedules 

    Upcoming Events

     
    Medical Students matching stand in a courtyard together holding their match letters up with big smiles.
    Annual Events

    You've worked hard to make it to where you are and every year during your tenure at DGSOM at UCLA there are opportunities to let loose and reflect on your...

    Annual Events